Andhra Pradesh polls: YS Sharmila to contest from Kadapa constituency

Posted by

Andhra Pradesh Congress chief YS Sharmila will contest from Kadapa parliamentary constituency, AICC Central Election Committee decided on Monday, reports said.

Former AP Congress chief Gidugu Rudraraj will contest from Rajahmundry parliament constituency while former MP Pallam Raju will contest from Kakinada constituency while film producer Satya Reddy will fight from Vizag constituency.

Seats such as Tirupati, Nandyala, Anantapur, Guntur, Vijayawada, Amalapuram, Kurnool, Araku are pending due to allotment of seats to CPI(M) and other opposition parties.

Congress Central Election Committee meeting has finalised all seats in AP except for 58 Assembly and 8 Lok Sabha seats.

Speaking to the media, YS Sharmila said, “The names of 114 MLA and 5 MP candidates were approved in today’s meeting. The rest of the names will be approved soon.”

Talking about pensions, she said that there is a deliberate delay in the matter of pensions in AP. “People are being told that the opposition is the reason for the delay. The EC directed that the pension amount should be deposited directly into the beneficiary’s account under the DBT system. Why take ten days for work that can be done in a day? The Chief Secretary should take the initiative and distribute it immediately through DBT.”

Other parties YSRCP, TDP-JSP-BJP alliance have finalised and released candidate lists over the last few weeks. AP Congress hopes that this election will revitalise the party after it was wiped out due to 2014 bifurcation. Andhra Pradesh has 175 assembly segments and 25 lok sabha seats.

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *