BCCI, CA jointly announce India vs Australia Border-Gavaskar Trophy extension to five Tests

Posted by

New Delhi: The all-important Border-Gavaskar Trophy between India and Australia was extended to five Tests on Monday and the change would be seen in the upcoming edition of the marquee series. India and Australia are set to play five Tests later this year for the first time since the 1991-92 season as announced by Cricket Australia (CA). The complete schedule for the 2024-25 season is set to be released in the coming days.

“For the first time since 1991-92, Australia and India will compete across a five-Test series this summer. The extended series for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy will be a headline of the 2024-25 home summer schedule set to be released in the coming days,” CA posted on X (formerly Twitter).

Five men’s Tests against India 🔒

Bring on the summer of cricket! pic.twitter.com/snzkoo2f21

— Cricket Australia (@CricketAus) March 25, 2024

The development was jointly announced by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and CA. “The BCCI remains steadfast in its dedication to preserving the rich heritage of Test Cricket, a format we hold in the highest esteem. Our ongoing collaboration with Cricket Australia in extending the Border-Gavaskar Trophy to five Tests underscores our collective commitment to nurturing and elevating Test cricket’s significance,” BCCI secretary Jay Shah said in a CA press release.

“We are absolutely delighted the Border-Gavaskar Trophy has been extended to five Tests given the intense rivalry between our two great cricketing nations and the excitement this creates,” CA Chairman Mike Baird said.

India faring better lately

Talking about the last four series between India and the Aussies, India have won on all four occasions which include consecutive away Test series wins in 2018-19 and 2020-21. Australia exacted revenge by defeating India in the World Test Championship final in London last year. The word is around that Perth will be hosting the opening Test of the five-match series this year. CA is yet to come out with the final schedule and is likely to start in late November this year.

Test matches between India and Australia are a treat to watch for the traditional format’s fanatics as players engage in fierce rivalries and on-field spats while battling it out for the elite trophy. The batters go through pain, taking several blows on the body as well. India won the last edition of the series, hosting Australia and defeating them with a 2-1 margin.

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *