Congress filed Robert Bruce from Tirunelveli; Tharahai for Vilavancode assembly by-election

Posted by

Chennai: The Congress on Monday announced C Robert Bruce is the party candidate for Tirunelveli Lok Sabha seat for the upcoming general elections. Dr Tharahai Cuthbert will be the Congress candidate for the Vilavancode assembly seat by-election. However, the suspense over the candidate in Mayiladuthurai continues.

Congress is yet to announce candidate for Mayiladuthurai

Mayiladuthurai is the last parliamentary constituency in Tamil Nadu where Congress is yet to name its candidate for upcoming Lok Sabha elections. The national party has announced its candidates in eight other constituencies it contests in Tamil Nadu in the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK)-led alliance.

As tomorrow is the last day for filing nominations, the Mayiladuthurai candidate will be announced by tonight, the party’s state president Selvaperunthagai has informed.

Tamil Nadu Congress candidates list 2024

Congress on Sunday announced the first list of candidates for Tamil Nadu. Accordingly, Former Karnataka cadre IAS officer Sasikanth Senthil to contest from Tiruvallur Lok Sabha seat, Karti P Chidambaram, S Jothimani, and Manickam Tagore renominated from Sivaganga, Karur, and Virudhunagar respectively.

K Gopinath replaced A Chellakumar in Krishnagiri, while MK Vishnuprasad moved to Cuddalore, and Vijay Vasanth renominated from Kanyakumari Candidate.

Congress contest 9 seats in Tamil Nadu

A total of 10 constituencies have been allocated to the Congress party, which is a part of the DMK alliance in the Lok Sabha elections 2024, 9 in Tamil Nadu and 1 in Puducherry. Accordingly, the Congress Party is contesting in Tiruvallur (Separate), Cuddalore, Mayiladuthurai, Sivagangai, Tirunelveli, Krishnagiri, Karur, Virudhunagar, Kanyakumari and Puducherry constituencies.

Instead of Trichy, Theni, and Arani, which the Congress contested last time, the Congress party has been given 3 constituencies namely Cuddalore, Mayiladuthurai, and Tirunelveli.

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *