IPL 2024: With skipper Rishabh Pant back in form, Delhi Capitals look to stop Kolkata Knight Riders

Posted by

New Delhi: A comfortable victory over defending champions Chennai Super Kings would embolden Delhi Capitals to take on Kolkata Knight Riders in an IPL clash at their adopted home of Visakhapatnam on Wednesday.

Delhi defeated CSK by 20 runs on Sunday to notch up their first victory in the tournament after two opening round defeats. Adding to the positivity is the return to form of skipper Rishabh Pant.

The left hander cracked his first half century in 15 months since returning to action from a horrific car crash in December 2022.

They produced a commendable all-round performance to beat the formdidable CSK and would need another such performance to negotiate KKR, who have won both their first two matches, pummelling Royal Challengers Bengaluru in their last game.

Delhi would want their batters to produce a similarly authoritative display like the one KKR exhibited against RCB. With a batting line-up comprising veteran Australians David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, South African Tristan Stubbs and Prithvi Shaw they are certainly capable of doing it.

Their bowlers too are yet to hit top gear with South African Anrich Nortje searching for rhythm after a long injury lay-off. Khaleel Ahmed’s ability to swing the ball accompanied by his suspect fielding ability, while Mukesh Kumar and Ishant Sharma lacks pace.

KKR present a much more balanced look with opener Phil Salt, all-rounder Andre Rusell and Venkatesh Iyer beginning the tournament on a high note with skipper Shreyas Iyer chipping in with the bat against RCB.

Rookie pacer Harshit Rana has picked five wickets in two outings, covering up the underwhelming form of IPL’s most expensive player Mitchell Star and Varun Chakravarthy.

The Teams (From):

Delhi Capitals: Rishabh Pant (c), David Warner, Prithvi Shaw, Yash Dhull, Abishek Porel, Axar Patel, Lalit Yadav, Mitchell Marsh, Pravin Dubey, Vicky Ostwal, Anrich Nortje, Kuldeep Yadav, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Khaleel Ahmed, Ishant Sharma, Mukesh Kumar, Tristan Stubbs, Ricky Bhui, Kumar Kushagra, Rasikh Dar, Jhye Richardson, Sumit Kumar, Swastik Chikara and Shai Hope.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Shreyas Iyer (c), KS Bharat, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Rinku Singh, Angkrish Raghuvanshi, Sherfane Rutherford, Manish Pandey, Andre Russell, Nitish Rana, Venkatesh Iyer, Anukul Roy, Ramandeep Singh, Varun Chakravarthy, Sunil Narine, Vaibhav Arora, Chetan Sakariya, Harshit Rana, Suyash Sharma, Mitchell Starc, Dushmantha Chameera, Sakib Hussain, Mujeeb Ur Rahman.

Match begins at 7.30pm IST

Live telecast on Star Sport Network

Live streaming on Jio Cinema

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *