KKR dismantle Delhi Capitals to post 272/7 in Vizag: A look at highest team totals in IPL history

Posted by

New Delhi: Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) missed out on rewriting history by a whisker as they went on to make a mockery of the Delhi Capitals (DC) bowling attack to post the second-highest total in the history of the Indian Premier League (IPL). KKR posted a humongous total of 272/7 in 20 overs against DC in Vizag as they missed out on the IPL record by just six runs.

Thanks to some stunning batting from the likes of Sunil Narine, Andre Russell and Rinku Singh among others, KKR nearly broke Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)’s record for the highest total in IPL history. SRH had slammed 277 runs in their clash against Mumbai Indians earlier this season to set a new record for the highest-ever team total in the IPL.

KKR opener Narine started the carnage in the Powerplay as he raced to his 50 off just 21 balls, smashing the ball across all parts of the ground. There was no stopping the hard-hitting left-hander, who took the DC bowlers to the cleaners. Narine shared a 60-run opening stand with Philip Salt (18) and continued his onslaught after the England star’s departure.

Narine ended up hammering a sensational knock of 85 runs off just 39 balls laced with 7 fours and as many sixes. Young Angkrish Raghuvanshi played great support to Narine with his 54 off 27 balls as the dup shared a 104-run stand for the second wicket. Their partnership set the stage for a huge total for KKR and the likes of Russell, Rinku and skipper Shreyas Iyer ensured they got past the 270-run mark.

While Russell batted in his usual style en route to a fiery 41 off 19 balls, Iyer scored 18 off 11 balls. However, it was Rinku’s stunning cameo of 8-ball 26 that put KKR in touching distance of breaking the record of 277 runs, which they eventually ended up missing in the end. Nonetheless, KKR’s 272 is now 2nd on the list of highest team totals in IPL history.

Highest team totals in IPL history:

277/3 – SRH vs MI, Hyderabad, 2024
272/7 – KKR vs DC, Vizag, today*
263/5 – RCB vs PWI, Bengaluru, 2013
257/5 – LSG vs PBKS, Mohali, 2023
248/3 – RCB vs GL, Bengaluru, 2016

IPL 2024 full coverage

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *