Seat sharing sorted with RJD in Bihar, Congress to field candidates on these 8 seats

Posted by

Patna: After several days of intense negotiations and suspense, the Congress and RJD in Bihar have finally resolved their differences over seat sharing. On Wednesday, both parties reached a consensus, finalising the allocation of seats between them.

Under the agreement, the Congress party has secured eight seats in Bihar. These constituencies include Katihar, Kishanganj, Bhagalpur, Samastipur, Muzaffarpur, Bettiah, Patna Sahib, and Sasaram. Additionally, discussions are ongoing for one more seat, possibly in Sheohar or Maharajganj, bringing the total to nine seats for the Congress.

Exception of Purnia Lok Sabha Seat

The issue of the Purnia Lok Sabha seat created some friction between the Congress and RJD. Following the merger of Pappu Yadav’s Jan Adhikar Party with Congress, there was a conflict regarding the allocation of this seat. While RJD opposed giving Purnia to Congress, Pappu Yadav was adamant about contesting from there. However, after Wednesday’s meeting, it was decided to field Bima Bharti, who recently left JDU, on the Purnia seat. RJD agreed to lend its symbol to Bima Bharti.

Finalisation of seat sharing among INDIA alliance

With the resolution of seat sharing between Congress and RJD, the INDIA alliance has finalised its seat distribution formula for Bihar’s 40 Lok Sabha seats. This formula, agreed upon by Congress, RJD, and Left parties, allocates a total of nine seats to Congress. Tejashwi Yadav, former Deputy CM of Bihar, had earlier stated that the allocation of seats within the INDIA alliance would soon be finalised, denying any ongoing disputes.

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *