Tamil Nadu: BJP leader Tada Periyasamy joins AIADMK after being denied Lok Sabha ticket

Posted by

Chennai: Tamil Nadu BJP leader Tada Periyasamy quits the saffron party and joined the AIADMK after being denied a ticket in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. He had fought elections from the Chidambaram LS seat on a BJP ticket and was the party’s face in the constituency. The BJP has fielded Vellore ex-Mayor Karthiyayini (formerly AIADMK) in Chidambaram this time.

On Saturday, the former SC Wing President of the Tamil Nadu BJP, Tada Periyasamy, joined AIADMK in the presence of the party’s general secretary Edappadi K Palaniswami.

Who is Tada Periyasamy?

Tada Periyasamy, who was one of the key persons behind the formation of Dalit outfit Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi VCK in 1990 along with Thol Thirumavalavan, later joined the BJP in 2004 due to differences of opinion.

Periyasamy, who was said to be expecting a ticket to contest against Thirumavalavan in the 2024 parliamentary elections in the Chidambaram LS seat, expected that the constituency would be allotted to him in the BJP.

But, the BJP had allotted the seat to former AIADMK leader Karthiyayini.

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *